Campo Grande, December 5, 2022 Change language
Follow us on Twitter Subscribe via  RSS Feed

Call for Papers

Publicity version


The Brazilian Symposium on Computer Networks and Distributed Systems (SBRC) is an annual event promoted by the Brazilian Computer Society (SBC) and the National Computer Networks Laboratory (LARC). SBRC has become the most important scientific event on computer networks and distributed systems in Latin America. The large number of submitted papers and attendees in recent years attest its importance: the number of attendees per year varies from 800 to 1,200, and the paper acceptance rate is less than 30%, with over 300 submissions registered in each of the past few years.

In its 29th edition, SBRC will be held from May 30 to June 3, 2011 in Campo Grande, MS, Brazil. Campo Grande is the gateway to Pantanal, the world's largest wetland, which is famous for its flora and fauna. In 2011, the College of Computing of the Federal University of Mato Grosso do Sul (UFMS) is organizing the event. The symposium will be composed of technical sessions, panels, several related workshops, a tools session, invited talks, and tutorials presented by internationally acclaimed researchers. Specific calls to the several activities during SBRC will be later announced. Authors of the best papers selected for publication and presentation in SBRC 2011 will be invited to submit an extended version of their work to the Brazilian Journal of Computer Networks and Distributed Systems (RB-RESD).


Topics of Interest

Prospective authors are invited to submit full papers containing novel results from scientific/technological research. Each paper will be reviewed by at least three specialists. The non-exhaustive list of topics of interest includes:

  • Ad hoc routing
  • Autonomic networks
  • Characterization of networks and services
  • Cloud computing
  • Cognitive radio networks
  • Context-aware computing
  • Delay/disruption-tolerant networks
  • Detection and prevention of anomalies and attacks
  • Digital TV
  • Distributed algorithms and applications
  • Distributed autonomic systems
  • Distributed multimedia systems
  • Distributed operating systems
  • Distributed real-time systems
  • Fault tolerance
  • Future Internet
  • Grid computing
  • Infra-structured wireless networks
  • Management and operation of IT infrastructure
  • Management and operation of networks
  • Middleware
  • Mobile computing
  • Mobile networks
  • Mobility
  • Network measurements and monitoring
  • Online social networks
  • Optical networks
  • P2P networks and systems
  • Performance, scalability, and reliability
  • Protocols
  • Quality of service
  • Routing, switching, and addressing
  • Security in networks and distributed systems
  • Self-organizing networks
  • Sensor networks
  • Service-oriented computing
  • Specification, validation, and verification
  • Traffic engineering and control
  • Ubiquitous computing
  • Vehicular networks
  • Virtualization
  • Web services

Author Guidelines

Paper submission will be exclusively online through the JEMS conferencing system. Authors should access Papers may be written in Portuguese or English, and must be in PDF format. Each paper is limited to 14 pages, including abstract, figures, tables, references, and appendix. Papers must follow the SBC format, available at

Important Dates

Paper registration: December 06, 2010 December 10, 2010 (Hard deadline)
Paper upload: December 13, 2010 December 20, 2010 (Harde deadline)
Notification of results: March 23, 2011
Camera-ready version: April 04, 2011

Note: Papers must have title, author(s), abstract, and keywords registered until December 06, 2010 (23h55min BRT). Once registered, paper upload may be performed until December 13, 2010 (23h55min BRT).

Organizing Committee

General Chair

Ronaldo Alves Ferreira (UFMS)

Techinical Program Committee Chairs

Bruno Schulze (LNCC)
Artur Ziviani (LNCC)

Technical Program Committee

Aldri dos Santos (UFPR)
Alexandre Sztajnberg (UERJ)
Alfredo Goldman (USP)
Aloysio de Castro Pinto Pedroza (UFRJ)
Ana Paula Couto Silva (UFJF)
Anelise Munaretto (UTFPR)
Antônio Abelém (UFPA)
Antônio Tadeu Azevedo Gomes (LNCC)
Antonio Alfredo Ferreira Loureiro (UFMG)
Artur Ziviani (LNCC)
Bruno Schulze (LNCC)
Carlos Ferraz (UFPE)
Carlos Goulart (UFV)
Carlos Kamienski (UFABC)
Carlos Westphall (UFSC)
Célio Vinicius Neves de Albuquerque (UFF)
Cesar Melo (UFAM)
Claudio Geyer (UFRGS)
Cristina Murta (CEFET-MG)
Daniel Figueiredo (UFRJ)
Danielo Gomes (UFC)
Dênio Mariz Sousa (IFPB)
Djamel H. Sadok (UFPE)
Dorgival Guedes (UFMG)
Edmundo Madeira (UNICAMP)
Eduardo Bergamini (INPE/MCT)
Eduardo Cerqueira (UFPA)
Eduardo Nakamura (FUCAPI/UFAM)
Elias P. Duarte Jr. (UFPR)
Fabíola Greve (UFBA)
Fabio Costa (UFG)
Fabio Kon (USP)
Fábio Luciano Verdi (UFSCar)
Flavia Delicato (UFRN)
Flávio Assis Silva (UFBA)
Francisco Brasileiro (UFCG)
Francisco Vasques (Universidade do Porto)
Geraldo Robson Mateus (UFMG)
Jó Ueyama (USP)
Jean-Marie Farines (UFSC)
Joaquim Celestino Júnior (UECE)
Joberto Martins (UNIFACS)
Joni da Silva Fraga (UFSC)
José Neuman de Souza (UFC)
José Ferreira de Rezende (UFRJ)
José Augusto Suruagy Monteiro (UNIFACS)
Jose-Marcos Nogueira (UFMG)
Julius Leite (UFF)
Jussara Almeida (UFMG)
Keiko Fonseca (UTFPR)
Kelvin Dias (UFPE)
Lau Cheuk Lung (UFSC)
Liane Tarouco (UFRGS)
Linnyer Ruiz (UEM)
Lisandro Zambenedetti Granville (UFRGS)
Luci Pirmez (UFRJ)
Luciano Paschoal Gaspary (UFRGS)
Luis Carlos De Bona (UFPR)
Luis Henrique Costa (UFRJ)
Luiz Fernando Rust da Costa Carmo (UFRJ)
Luiz Eduardo Buzato (UNICAMP)
Luiz Fernando Soares (PUC-Rio)
Magnos Martinello (UFES)
Marcelo Pias (Globosense / Univ Cambridge)
Marcelo Rubinstein (UERJ)
Marcial Fernandez (UECE)
Marco Aurélio Spohn (UFCG)
Marcos Pinheiro (UFRN)
Marcos Salvador (CPqD)
Marinho Barcellos (UFRGS)
Markus Endler (PUC-Rio)
Mauro Fonseca (PUCPR)
Michael Stanton (RNP & UFF)
Michele Nogueira (UFPR)
Miguel Elias Mitre Campista (UFRJ)
Nabor Mendonca (UNIFOR)
Nazareno Andrade (UFCG)
Nelson Fonseca (UNICAMP)
Nelson Rosa (UFPE)
Noemi Rodriguez (PUC-Rio)
Orlando Loques (UFF)
Otto Carlos M. B. Duarte (UFRJ)
Paulo Aguiar (UFRJ)
Paulo Cunha (UFPE)
Paulo Pires (UFRN)
Paulo André da Silva Gonçalves (UFPE)
Raimundo José de Araújo Macêdo (UFBA)
Raquel Mini (PUC-Minas)
Regina Silveira (USP)
Roberto Willrich (UFSC)
Rodrigo Mello (USP)
Ronaldo Ferreira (UFMS)
Ronaldo Salles (IME)
Rosa Leão (UFRJ)
Rossana Andrade (UFC)
Silvana Rossetto (UFRJ)
Taisy Weber (UFRGS)
Tereza Carvalho (USP)
Thais Vasconcelos Batista (UFRN)
Vinod Rebello (UFF)
Wanderley Lopes de Souza (UFSCar)
William Giozza (UnB)


  • UFMS


  • SBC
  • LARC

Official Air Carrier

  • Official Air Carrier