Campo Grande, September 24, 2020 Change language
Follow us on Twitter Subscribe via  RSS Feed

Palestra 1 - Boutaba

Raouf Boutaba, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Canadá

Título: Distributed Search Revisited: Resolving the Conflict of Efficiency & Flexibility

Horário: 30 de maio 18h às 19h

Peer-to-peer technology has impacted a wide range of distributed systems beyond simple file-sharing. Distributed XML databases, distributed computing, server-less web publishing and networked resource/service sharing are only a few to name. Despite the diversity in applications, these systems share a common problem regarding searching and discovery of information. This commonality stems from transitory peer population and volatile peer content. As an effect users do not have the exact information about what they are looking for. Rather queries are based on partial information, which requires the search mechanism to be flexible. On the other hand to scale with network size the search mechanism is also required to be bandwidth efficient.

Since the advent of P2P technology experts from industry and academia have proposed a number of search techniques - none of which is able to provide satisfactory solution to the conflicting requirements of search efficiency and flexibility. Structured search techniques, mostly DHT-based, are bandwidth efficient while semi(un)-structured techniques are flexible. But, neither achieves both ends.

This talk will introduce a generic framework called Distributed Pattern Matching to address the search problem in distributed environments while achieving both search flexibility and efficiency.


Raouf Boutaba is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo. He held Visiting Professor Positions at the University of Toronto (Canada), the University of Pierre et Marie Curie, the University of Versailles, ENST- Paris, Paris 13 and Paris 5 (France), and POSTECH (Korea). He severed as a distinguished speaker of the IEEE Communications Society and the IEEE Computer Society. He is the Chairman of the Technical Committee on Autonomic Communications and served as the chair of the IEEE Communications Society Technical Committee on Information Infrastructure. He is a Past Chair of the IFIP Working Group on Networks and Distributed Systems Management, Past Director of the Conference Publications Board, Past Director of the Related Societies board, and Past Director of the standards board of the IEEE Communications Society. He is the founding Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management (200 7-2010), on the advisory editorial board of the Journal of Network and Systems Management, and on the editorial board of the KICS/IEEE Journal of Communications and Networks and the Journal on Internet Services and Applications. He also served as in the past as editor for several other journals such as Computer Networks and guest edited special issues for several journals including 3 issues of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications. He served as the general or program chair for a number of IEEE and IFIP conferences including ICC, Globecom, NOMS, Networking, CCNC, and others. His research interests include network, resource and service management in wired and wireless networks. He has published extensively in these areas and received several journal and conference Best Paper Awards such as the IEEE 2008 Fred W. Ellersick Prize Paper Award, The 2001 KICS/IEEE  Journal on Communications and Networks Best Paper Award, the IM 2007 and 2009 Conferen ce Best Paper Awards, the CNSM 2010 Best Paper Award among others. He also received several other recognitions such as the Premier's Research Excellence Award, two Industry research excellence Awards, a fellowship of the Faculty of Mathematics, a David R. Cheriton faculty fellowship and an outstanding performance award at the University of Waterloo. He has also received the IEEE Communications Society Hal Sobol Award and the IFIP Silver Core in 2007, the IEEE Communications Society Joe LociCero award and the IFIP/IEEE Dan Stokesbury award in 2009.





  • UFMS


  • SBC
  • LARC

Official Air Carrier

  • Official Air Carrier